17th Annual Rorke’s Drift Concert

February 25, 2014 in Recent Highlights

The Romford Drum and Trumpet Corps was delighted to be invited along as a guest band at this year’s Rorke’s Drift Concert in at the Theatr Brycheiniog in Brecon, Wales – The 17th Annual Concert to be precise.

Massed Bands

Massed Bands

The trip started out for the Band on Thursday evening with some rehearsals and social time over the next few days, ready for Saturday night’s performance at the Theatr Brycheiniog. The performance included approximately 160 young musicians as part of a massed band of the Army Cadet Force (ACF), hosted by the ACF band of the Gwent and Powys ACF.

Daisie Foreman

Daisie Foreman


The performance opened with the English and Welsh National Anthems before the programme moved towards some fantastic pieces of music including: “A Selection from Mary Poppins”, “Colonel Bogey”, “The Simpsons”, “The Gael”, “The Edge of Glory”, “Solitaire” and “High on a Hill”. The programme also featured “Feeling Good” (as made famous by Nina Simone, and later recorded by Michael Buble) with an absolutely outstanding Trumpet solo from our very own Daisie Foreman.

Massed Bands




Of course, no performance of ours is complete without a display by our drum section which this time, encompassed 3 of their best tattoos and was enhanced with a light display and pyrotechnics!


Presentation Evening 2014

February 6, 2014 in Recent Highlights

A fantastic night held at Emerson Park School, where the band played a programme of some of the best and most recent pieces they’ve been working on, including a performance from The Academy. Our “Oscar style” awards then followed, reviewing some of the highs and lows of 2013 and of course, the awards themselves!

We took a look over some of the best events of 2014 including Disneyland Paris, Horse Guards Parade and as always, the Lord Mayors Show, London

Our Full List of Winners:

  • The Presidents Award – Daisie Foreman
  • 5 Year Service Award – Billy Griffiths, Niamh Gray
  • 15 Year Service Award – Jonathan Buttifant
  • The Drum Section Award – Niamh Gray
  • The Best Newcomer Award (The Gordon Marchant Memorial Trophy) – Katie Nurden
  • The Music School Pupil Of The Year – Jessica Squibb
  • The Wind Section Award – Sammy Rees
  • The Academy Attendance Award – Scarlett Gray
  • The Band Attendance Award – Luke Munro, Robert Carey
  • The Band Personality Of The Year Award – Devon Cressy
  • The Acadaemy Member Of The Year (Pam Evans Memorial Trophy) – Jamie Widdop
  • The Band Member Of The Year (Dick Bouchard MBE Memorial Trophy) – Luke Munro